जब जब बहार आयी–तक़दीर से (1943)

My attempt to translate one of my favorite songs.

जब जब बहार आयी और फूल मुसकुराये
Whenever the spring comes and the flowers smile,
मुझे तुम याद आयी। मुझे तुम याद आयी।
I remember you. I remember you.
जब जब बहार आयी और फूल मुसकुराये
Whenever the spring comes and the flowers smile,
मुझे तुम याद आयी। मुझे तुम याद आयी।
I remember you. I remember you.
जब जब भी चाँद निकला और तारे जगमाग आये
Whenever the moon comes out and the stars sparkle
मुझे तुम याद आयी। मुझे तुम याद आयी।
I remember you. I remember you.

आपना कोई तराना मैंने नहीं बनाया
I have never made my own song
आपना कोई तरहना मैंने नहीं बनाया
I have never made my own song
तुमने मेरे लाभों पे हर एक सुर सजाया
You placed every note on my lips
जब जब मेरे तराने दुनिया ने गुण गुणनाये
Whenever my songs are heard by the world,
मुझे तुम याद आयी। मुझे तुम याद आयी।
I remember you. I remember you.

एक प्यार और वाफ़ा की तस्वीर मनता हूँ
I think of you as my picture of love and faithfulness
एक प्यार और वाफ़ा की तस्वीर मनता हूँ
I think of you as my picture of love and faithfulness
तस्वीर क्या तुमें मैं तक़दीर मनता हूँ
Not a picture, I think of you as my destiny
देखी नज़र ने ख़ुशियाँ या देखे ग़म के साये
Whether happiness or sorrow’s shadows are seen,
मुझे तुम याद आयी। मुझे तुम याद आयी।
I remember you. I remember you.

मुमकिन है ज़िन्दागनी करें जाये बेवाफ़ाई
It is possible that life may deceive me
मुमकिन है ज़िन्दागानी करें जाये बेवाफ़ाई
It is possible that life may deceive me
लेकिन यह प्यार वह है जिस में नहीं जुदायी
But my love is that love in which there is no separation
इस प्यार के फ़साने जब जब ज़ुबान पे आये
Whenever the tale of this love is told,
मुझे तुम याद आयी। मुझे तुम याद आयी।
I remember you. I remember you.

जब जब बहार आयी और फूल मुसकुराये
Whenever the spring comes and the flowers smile,
मुझे तुम याद आयी। मुझे तुम याद आयी।
I remember you. I remember you.

About FreeFlowingThoughts

All of the writing is original and some of the drawings are too. I do these as a form of stress relief and to share my work with others.
This entry was posted in Song Translation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to जब जब बहार आयी–तक़दीर से (1943)

  1. Nice.. good to remember who we are too. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

